It might seem that you have turned off javascripts. We have tried to ensure functionality without, but some functions might not work as intended

Jump to main content
20 May - 03 June 2020

Ålien, Boisseau, Philippe & Dupree

Next event:
Glowing interaction from a young quartet with roots at the Kronberg Academy.
The award-winning Norwegian violinist Miriam Helms Ålien (born in 1991) is praised for ‘her extraordinary musicality and maturity beyond her years’. She is associated with the renowned Kronberg Academy in Germany.
She visits the 2020 Bergen International Festival with friends from the Academy: pianists Adrien Boisseau and Frank Dupree and cellist Bruno Philippe. The four young performers, all profiled soloists in their own right, share a great love for chamber music.
For the concert the musicians have chosen a selection of lesser-known works from well-known composers, including Mahler’s melancholy Piano Quartet.
Ålien describes the piece as ‘rather melancholy, but eventually both emotional and dramatic – his only work in the genre.’ They will also perform Brahms’sPiano Quartet, a work of epic proportions that accommodates ‘endless joy of life, deep inner peace, delicious drama, charm and contagious energy.’ Brahms’s monumental Piano Quartet no. 2 in A Major, his longest chamber music work, concludes the concert.

Miriam Helms Ålien (photo: Jessy Lee), Bruno Philippe (photo: Philippe Matsas), Adrien Boisseau (photo: Nikolaj Lund), Frank Dupree (photo: Sebastian Heck)



​2 h incl. interval


  • Standard: 480  
  • Senior: 432  
  • Under 30/student: 190 
  • FiB Fordel until 13 April: 336 
  • FiB Fordel from 14 April: 384  
  • BT Fordel: 360

Purchase ticket


Roundtrip City Centre – Troldhaugen by bus is free, but must be booked in advance along with the concert tickets or on this website.

The bus departs at 18:30 from the Tourist Information Office and returns from Troldhaugen at 22:00. The journey takes approx. 30 minutes.


  • Miriam Helms Ålien violin
  • Adrien Boisseau viola
  • Bruno Philippe cello
  • Frank Dupree piano

Music by

  • ​Mahler
  • Ravel
  • Schumann
  • Brahms


  • Gustav Mahler (1860–1911)
    Piano Quartet in A minor
  • 1. Nicht zu schnell 
  • Maurice Ravel (1875–1937)
    Sonata for Violin and Cello, M 73
  • 1. Allegro 
    2. Très vif 
    3. Lent 
    4. Vif, avec entrain 
  • Robert Schumann (1810–1856)
    Märchenbilder Fairy Tale Pictures for Viola and Piano, op. 113
  • 1. Nicht schnell  
    2. Lebhaft 
    3. Rasch 
    4. Langsam, mit melancholischen Ausdruck
  • Interval
  • Johannes Brahms (1833–1897)
    Piano Quartet no. 2 in A major, op. 26
  • 1. Allegro non troppo
    2. Poco adagio
    3. Scherzo: Poco allegro - Trio
    4. Finale: Allegro

Supported by

​The Savings Bank Foundation DNB – Dextra Musica

This site uses cookies for analysis, statistics, tailoring of content and development. Read more



Connected to chatbot
Hei! Jeg er Festspillenes chatbot. Hva kan jeg hjelpe deg med?