It might seem that you have turned off javascripts. We have tried to ensure functionality without, but some functions might not work as intended

Jump to main content
26 May - 09 June 2021


Music Digital
World premiere
Past events:
  • Event finished

​Dvořák’s masterful Piano Quintet and new voices.

Through the Crescendo mentoring programme young Norwegian artists on the cusp of an international career have had the opportunity to rehearse and perform with established musicians in what might be considered a continual master class. One result has been a series of chamber music highlights at the Bergen International Festival over the last few years, to the pleasure of mentors, participants and audiences alike. 

In Håkonshallen a fair number of current and former Crescendo participants are gathered for this concert with the programme's principal mentor Leif Ove Andsnes. 

The concert starts with Janáček's Pohádka (Fairy Tale) for Piano and Cello, followed by two world premieres: two sonatas for Piano and Tuba, one by Gotthard Odermatt; the other by Harald Ramm Haugland, who performs in the concert himself. The percussion duo PERCelleh performs a toccata by the Danish composer Anders Koppel. 

After the interval comes Antonin Dvořák's Piano Quintet, with Leif Ove Andsnes at the piano. Its themes inspired by folk music have endeared the work to many. 

Photo: Thor Brødreskift


The event is filmed. Cameras can be an inconvenience to the audience at the venue. No admittance after the doors close, 5 mins before the event begins. Any distribution, copying and downloading of video content is strictly forbidden. 

The Bergen International Festival is carried out in accordance with the government's and local authorities' current requirements and guidelines for COVID-19. Read more here.

Digital pass or ticket holder? Watch the event here.



​1 h 45 min, incl. interval


At the venue
Standard: 490
Senior: 441
Under 30/student: 190
BT Fordel: 367

Digital event
Standard: 250
Under 30/Student: 150
BT Fordel: 180
Household: 400

Digital pass or ticket holder? Watch the event here.


    • Leif Ove Andsnes piano
    • Ludvig Gudim violin
    • Sonoko Miriam Welde violin
    • Johan Dalene violin
    • Amalie Stalheim cello
    • Sandra Lied Haga cello
    • Eivind Ringstad viola
    • August Schieldrop tuba
    • Kristoffer Almås percussion
    • Bjørn Christian Svarstad percussion
    • Harald Ramm Haugland piano

Music by

    • Janáček
    • Lutosławski
    • Odermatt
    • Haugland
    • Koppel
    • Dvořák


    • Witold Lutosławski (1913–1994)
      Partita for violin and piano

    • Leoš Janáček (1854–1928)
      Pohádka (Fairy Tale), The Story of Tsar Berendyey, JW 7/5
    • Gotthard Odermatt (1974–)
      Norwegische Polarlichter (Norwegian Aurora Borealis), op. 34 – Sonata for Tuba & Piano 
      1. Grünes Licht (Green light)
      2. Rotes Licht (Red light)
      3. Violettes Licht (Violet light)
      World premiere

    • Harald Ramm Haugland (2002–)
      Sonata for Tuba and Piano, 1st movement
      World premiere

    • Anders Koppel  (1947–)
      Toccata for Vibraphone and Marimba

    • Interval

    • Antonín Dvořák (1841–1904)
      Piano Quintet no. 2 in A major, op. 81
      1. Allegro, ma non tanto
      2. Dumka: Andante con moto
      3. Scherzo (Friant): Molto vivace
      4. Finale: Allegro

Supported by

The Savings Bank Foundation DNB – Dextra Musica

Crescendo is a mentoring programme for young classical musicians under the direction of Bergen International Festival, Barratt Due Institute of Music and the Oslo Philharmonic. The project is supported by The Savings Bank Foundation DNB, Talent Norge, Bettina Ford Jebsen, Hans Peter Jebsen and Trond Mohn.


Connected to chatbot
Hei! Jeg er Festspillenes chatbot. Hva kan jeg hjelpe deg med?