It might seem that you have turned off javascripts. We have tried to ensure functionality without, but some functions might not work as intended

Jump to main content
20 May - 03 June 2020

Daniel Behle & Sveinung Bjelland

Past events:

​Schubertian streams. 

​Tenor Daniel Behle and pianist Sveinung Bjelland have collaborated closely for many years, and their recordings have reaped brilliant reviews in the international press. Together they will perform Die schöne Müllerin, ‘The Miller's Daughter’, a song cycle by Franz Schubert with lyrics by Wilhelm Müller.

The story follows a young journeyman miller in his quest for happiness, and in unrequited love, heartbreak and death. His relationship with the river trickles uninterruptedly throughout the work – he follows the river’s beckoning song, talks to it, and eventually ends his own life by drowning in it. The cycle ends with the river’s lullaby, which tells of the short and emotionally compelled life of the human, and of the eternal beauty of nature.

‘To me, the singing of song cycles is the most intimate and purest form of classical singing. It is my most important catharsis,’ says Behle, who together with Bjelland has performed and recorded several famous song cycles such as Schubert's Winterreise, Johannes Brahm's Die schöne Magelone and Robert Schumann's Dichterliebe.

Picture: Daniel Behle (photo: Marco Borggreve), Sveinung Bjelland (photo: Annamaria Kowalsky)



​1 h


  • Standard: 430
  • Senior: 387
  • Under 30: 190
  • FiB Fordel until 11 March: 301
  • FiB Fordel from 12 March: 344
  • BT Fordel: 322

Purchase ticket


​Bus transfer is included in the ticket. The bus journey is approx 30 min. Departure from the Tourist information at 18:30, with return from Troldhaugen at 21:00.


    • Daniel Behle tenor
    • Sveinung Bjelland piano

Music by

    • Schubert


  • FRANZ SCHUBERT  (1797–1828)
    Die Schöne Müllerin, op. 25, D 795
  • 1. Das Wandern (B flat major)
    2. Wohin? (G major)
    3. Halt! (C major)
    4. Danksagung an den Bach (G major)
    5. Am Feierabend (A minor)
    6. Der Neugierige (B major)
    7. Ungeduld (A major)
    8. Morgengruss (C major)
    9. Des Müllers Blumen (A major)
    10. Tränenregen (A major)
    11. Mein! (D major)
    12. Pause (B flat major)
    13. Mit dem grünen Lautenbande (B flat major)
    14. Der Jäger (C minor)
    15. Eifersucht und Stolz (G minor)
    16. Die liebe Farbe (B minor)
    17. Die böse Farbe (B major)
    18. Trockne Blumen (E minor)
    19. Der Müller und der Bach (G minor)
    20. Des Baches Wiegenlied (E major)


  • The Savings Bank Foundation DNB – Dextra Musica
  • Anders Sveaas' Charitable Foundation

This site uses cookies for analysis, statistics, tailoring of content and development. Read more



Connected to chatbot
Hei! Jeg er Festspillenes chatbot. Hva kan jeg hjelpe deg med?