It might seem that you have turned off javascripts. We have tried to ensure functionality without, but some functions might not work as intended

Jump to main content
22 May - 5 June 2024


Concert theatre with the Norwegian Chamber Orchestra

Next event:

​Breaking the bounds of a concert.

Imagine a musical experience that constantly finds new forms in its encounter with theatre, lighting and visual elements.

At Den Nationale Scene, Norway's oldest permanent theatre, you can make a closer acquaintance with Dmitri Shostakovich, one of the foremost composers of the twentieth century. The project is the brainchild of Det Norske Kammerorkester (Norwegian Chamber Orchestra), which has made finding new ways of presenting classical music its trademark.

In the performance the orchestra spins a thread through Shostakovich's varied musical styles, creating a musical narrative which is both inquisitive and dramatic, just as the composer's life was.

The title comes from Shostakovich's own musical signature, DSCH. He found the motif in the German transcription of his own name – Dmitri SCHostakowitsch – which he transferred to notes: D, E flat (Ess in German), C and B (called H in German – B is B flat).

These tones also form the basis for the Chamber Symphony, Rudolf Barshai’s arrangement of Shostakovich’s String Quartet no. 8. The work is a great audience favorite and will conclude this flamboyant performance, which is almost as much theater as it is a concert.

Photo: Magnus Skrede

  • Music
  • Theatre
  • Dramatised concert


  • Den Nationale Scene
    Accessible with wheelchair Designed for hearing impaired The venue has serving


1 h 30 min


​Standard: 260/580/690
Under 30 years/student: 200
Senior: 234/522/621
FiB Fordel: 182/406/483
BT Fordel: 195/435/517

Purchase ticket


    • Norwegian Chamber Orchestra
    • Pekka Kuusisto artistic director
    • Bjarke Mogensen accordion
    • Katrine Øigaard Sonstad idea, concept
    • Mikkel Harder Munck-Hansen direction, concept
    • Lars Egegaard Sørensen lighting design, set design
    • Maja Ravn set design, costumes
    • Øystein Sonstad musical preparations

Music by

    • Sjostakovitsj

    Dmitri Shostakovich (1906–1975)

    Arrangements of excerpts from:

    Viola Sonata, op. 147
    Romance from The Gadfly
    Three Fantastic Dances op. 5
    String Quartet no. 8, op. 110
    5 pieces for 2 Violin and Piano
    String Quartet no. 7
    Cello Concert nr. 2, op. 126
    2 pieces for String Quartet
    Waltz no. 2 from Jazz Suite no. 2
    Cello Concert no. 1, op. 107
    Piano Concert no. 2, op. 102
    Symphony no. 8, op. 65 
    Piano Trio no. 2, op. 67
    2 pieces for String Octet, op. 11, no. 2

    Chamber Symphony in C minor op. 110A, performed in it's entirety
    Arr.: Rudolf Barsjaj

Supported by

​H. Westfal-Larsen og hustru Anna Westfal-Larsens Almennyttige fond


Connected to chatbot
Hei! Jeg er Festspillenes chatbot. Hva kan jeg hjelpe deg med?