It might seem that you have turned off javascripts. We have tried to ensure functionality without, but some functions might not work as intended

Jump to main content
20 May - 03 June 2020

Idyll and Abyss

with Welde, Gudim, Ringstad, Stalheim & Andsnes

Past events:

​Music from Festival Composer Jörg Widmann with historical roots.

​Leif Ove Andsnes says, 'Jörg Widmann is a mulitfaceted composer with a broad register of expression. His music ranges from extremely experimental works to works directly derived from historical music. The two works in this concert belong to the second category. I am highly fascinated by the way Widmann manages to retain his own voice even when he reworks material from – and directly quotes – other composers.'

The Norwegian pianist will perform the work Idylle und Abgrund, a portrait of Franz Schubert. The music alternates between Viennese salon music and pitch-black melancholy.

Andsnes continues, 'String Quartet no. 3, The Hunt, alludes to Mozart's String Quartet with the same nickname. Musically however Widmann uses one of Schumann's early piano pieces, Papillons, op. 2, as the basis for a wild and whimsical chase.'

Widmann's and Mozart's String Quartets are performed by violinists Sonoko Miriam Welde and Ludvig Gudim, violist Eivind Ringstad and cellist Amalie Stalheim, all participants in the Crescendo programme, in which Leif Ove Andsnes is the principal mentor.

The concert will also be streamed on

Collage: Sonoko Miriam Welde (photo: Bård Gundersen), Ludvig Gudim (photo: Jiyang Chen), Amalie Stalheim (photo: Nikolaj Lund), Eivind Ringstad  (photo: Nikolaj Lund)

Available minimum 30 days after first streaming. This service is offered by the Bergen International Festival. The music is reproduced with permission by TONO ( Unauthorized performance or copying is illegal.



​1 h 15 min


    • Leif Ove Andsnes piano
    • Sonoko Miriam Welde violin 
    • Ludvig Gudim violin
    • Eivind Ringstad viola 
    • Amalie Stalheim cello

Music by

  • ​Mozart
  • Widmann
  • Schubert


  • Franz Schubert (1797–1828)
  • Scherzo D 593 nr 1 

  • Jörg Widmann (1973–)

    Idylle und Abgrund (Idyll and Abyss)

  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756–1791)
  • String Quartet no. 17 i B flat major, K 458 «Hunt»

    1. Allegro vivace assai

    2. Menuetto and Trio. Moderato

    3. Adagio

    4. Allegro assai

  • Jörg Widmann (1973–)
  • String Quartet no. 3 «Hunt»

Supported by

The Savings Bank Foundation DNB – Dextra Musica
Crescendois a mentoring program for young classical musicians under the direction of the Bergen International Festival, Barratt Due Music Institute and the Oslo Philharmonic. The project is supported by Trond Mohn, Bettina Ford Jebsen, Hans Peter Jebsen, The Savings Bank Foundation DNB, Dextra Musica and Talent Norway.


Connected to chatbot
Hei! Jeg er Festspillenes chatbot. Hva kan jeg hjelpe deg med?