It might seem that you have turned off javascripts. We have tried to ensure functionality without, but some functions might not work as intended

Jump to main content
20 May - 03 June 2020

Johanne Haugland & Gunnar Flagstad

Next event:
​From youthful optimism to swan song.

​Violinist Johanne Haugland, born and bred in Bergen, is currently studying for her Masters Degree at the Norwegian Academy of Music. In 2013 she spent a year in Venezuela in the Youth Orchestra of Caracas through the renowned social music education programme El Sistema.

In the 2020 Bergen International Festival she is accompanied by the illustrious pianist Gunnar Flagstad, who has performed at the festival on many previous occasions.

The violin sonatas in the programme may be considered to reflect the course of life. The first is by Edvard Grieg; a light romantic work he wrote at the age of 22, reviewed as 'the work of a young man who has only seen the sunny side of life', and contrasts strongly with the passionate, dramatic violin sonata composed by Robert Schumann shortly before his death in 1856. The concert concludes with Claude Debussy, and the work which was to be his last, composed on his deathbed in 1918. His melancholy swan song is ambiguous, clearly influenced by the World War which was raging at the time.

Photo of Gunnar Flagstad: Kyrre Lien



​1 h


  • Standard: 450 
  • Senior: 405 
  • Under 30/student: 190 
  • FiB Fordel until 11 March: 315 
  • FiB Fordel from 12 March: 360  

Purchase ticket


​Your ticket includes bus transportation to the venue. Buses depart at 14.00 from the Tourist Information Office and return at 16.30 from Siljustøl. The journey takes approx. 30 min


    • Johanne Haugland violin 
    • Gunnar Flagstad piano

Music by

  • Grieg
  • Schumann
  • Debussy​
  • Sæverud


  • Edvard Grieg (1843–1907)   
    Violin Sonata no. 1 in F major, op. 8  
  • 1. Allegro con brio 
    2. Allegretto quasi andantino 
    3. Allegro molto vivace 

  • Robert Schumann (1810–1856)   
    Violin Sonata  no. 1  in A minor, op. 105  
  • 1. Mit leidenschaftlichem Ausdruck 
    2. Allegretto 
    3. Lebhaft
  • Claude Debussy (1862–1918)   
    Violin Sonata in G minor  L140  
  • 1. Allegro vivo 
    2. Intermède: Fantasque et léger 
    3. Finale: Très animé 
  • Harald Sæverud ( 1897–1992 )   
    Bå'nlåt Nursery Song, op. 21:3   
    Kristi-blodsdråper Fuchsia, op. 21:1   
    Kjempeviseslåtten Ballad of Revolt, op. 22:5  

Supported by

​The Savings Bank Foundation DNB – Dextra Musica

This site uses cookies for analysis, statistics, tailoring of content and development. Read more



Connected to chatbot
Hei! Jeg er Festspillenes chatbot. Hva kan jeg hjelpe deg med?