It might seem that you have turned off javascripts. We have tried to ensure functionality without, but some functions might not work as intended

Jump to main content
20 May - 03 June 2020

Marianna Shirinyan

Next event:
A mirroring of Beethoven and Nielsen’s miniatures.

Armenian-Danish pianist Marianna Shirinyan is known for her sensitive playing style and smooth technique. At the Bergen International Festival, she has among other things previously performed as a soloist at Grieg's Piano Concerto in A minor. This year, she will perform two evening concerts in the little but giant composer's own living room.

‘The spirit and the authenticity of Grieg’s villa is incredibly heartwarming and sincere. At the same time, playing on the beautiful Steinway which Grieg used to work and play on is overwhelming for any artist,’ says Marianna Shirinyan. 

In addition to excerpts from Grieg's Lyric Pieces, the pianist will mirror Beethoven's and Nielsen's miniature works against each other throughout the concert.

‘Both are masters of their work, both with a specific signature,’ she says.

The programme also presents works by this year’s festival composer in residence Jörg Widmann, who the pianist has followed over several years and considers a monument of our time:

‘I am thrilled to finally start working on his pieces, and for this occasion, I have chosen the brilliant 11 Humoresques.’

Marianna Shirinyan (photo: Nikolaj Lund)



​1 h


  • Standard: 570 
  • Senior: 513 
  • Under 30/student: 190 
  • FiB Fordel until 13 April: 399 
  • FiB Fordel from 14 April: 456 

Purchase ticket


Your ticket includes bus transportation to the venue. Buses depart at 21.30 from the Tourist Information Office and return from Troldhaugen at midnight. The journey takes approx. 30 minutes.



  • Marianna Shirinyan piano​

Music by

  • ​Grieg
  • Beethoven
  • Nielsen
  • Widmann


  • Ludwig van Beethoven (1770–1827)   
    Bagatelle in G minor, op. 119:1 Allegretto
  • Carl Nielsen (1865–1931)   
    Humoresque-Bagatelle in C major, op. 11:1 Hello! Hello!  
  • Ludwig van Beethoven (1770–1827)   
    Bagatelle in A major, op. 119:4 Andante cantabile
  • Carl Nielsen (1865–1931)   
    Humoresque-Bagatelle in B flat major, op. 11:5 Doll’s March  
  • Ludwig van Beethoven (1770–1827)   
    Bagatelle in B flat major, op 119:11 Andante, ma non troppo   
  • Jörg Widmann (1973–)   
    11  Humoresken 11 Humoresques  
  • 1. Kinderlied: Semplice  
    2. Fast zu ernst: Mesto  
    3. Anfangs lebhaft: Agitato, poco rubato  
    4. Waldszene: Belebt  
    5. Choral: Sostenuto  
    6. Warum?: Auf der Hut, sehr langsam  
    7. Intermezzo: Prestissimo  
    8. Zerrinnendes Bild  
    9. Glocken  
    10.Lied im Traume: Ruhig bewegt  
    11. Mit Humor und Feinsinn  
  • Ludwig van Beethoven (1770–1827)   
    Piano Sonata no. 31 in A flat major, op. 110  
  • 1. Moderato cantabile molto espressivo  
    2. Allegro molto  
    3. Adagio ma non troppo – Allegro ma non troppo  
  • Edvard Grieg (1843–1907)   
    From Lyric Pieces, Book 3, op. 43  
  • 5. Erotik Erotikon  
    6. Til foråret To Spring  

Supported by

​The Savings Bank Foundation DNB – Dextra Musica and The William Demant Foundation

This site uses cookies for analysis, statistics, tailoring of content and development. Read more



Connected to chatbot
Hei! Jeg er Festspillenes chatbot. Hva kan jeg hjelpe deg med?