It might seem that you have turned off javascripts. We have tried to ensure functionality without, but some functions might not work as intended

Jump to main content
20 May - 03 June 2020

Marianne Thorsen & Håvard Gimse

Past events:

​Treasures from two of Norway's foremost musicians. 

Violinist Marianne Thorsen visits the Bergen International Festival at Ole Bull's home Lysøen with the acclaimed pianist Håvard Gimse.

'I have first and foremost chosen repertoire that I enjoy playing, and I wanted to include Norwegian works that aren't heard so often these days,' explains Marianne Thorsen, who is in demand both as a soloist and a chamber musician.

'Alf Hurum's D minor Sonata appealed to me immediately the first time I heard it, with its extrovert temperament and fresh vitality. We also play Air Norvégien by Johan Halvorsen, one of my favourite works. It is exciting how it combines fantasy, drama and energy,' she continues.

The violinist also has great regard for Tchaikovsky's Souvenir d'un lieu cher (Memory of a dear place): 'The piece makes use of the entire register of the instrument, and the infinitely beautiful tunes give the performer the opportunity to really make the violin sing.'

The duo has not forgotten where they are appearing: they round off the concert with works by Ole Bull.

Picture: Marianne Thorsen, Håvard Gimse (photo: Ilja Hendel)



​1 h


  • Standard: 650
  • Senior: 585
  • Under 30: 190  
  • FiB Fordel until 11 March: 455  
  • FiB Fordel from 12 March: 520​

Purchase ticket


Boat trip to Lysøen is included in the ticket. The boat leaves on time.

Departure from Dreggekaien at 10:00 for concert start at 11:30 and at 12:45 for concert start at 14:30. Return from Lysøen at 14:00 and 16:15.


  • Marianne Thorsen violin
  • Håvard Gimse piano

Music by

  • Hurum
  • Tsjajkovskij
  • Halvorsen
  • Bull


  • Alf Hurum (1882-1972) 
    Sonata nr. 1 i d-minor, op. 2

  • Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky (1840-1893) 
    Souvenir d'un lieu cher, op. 42

  • Johan Halvorsen (1864-1935) 
    Air Norvégien, op. 7

  • Ole Bull (1810-1880) 
    Sigrids sang
    Cantabile (Reminiscencer fra Concerten i Fredriksværn)
    Polacca Guerriera​


  • The Savings Bank Foundation DNB – Dextra Musica
  • Anders Sveaas' Charitable Foundation

This site uses cookies for analysis, statistics, tailoring of content and development. Read more



Connected to chatbot
Hei! Jeg er Festspillenes chatbot. Hva kan jeg hjelpe deg med?