It might seem that you have turned off javascripts. We have tried to ensure functionality without, but some functions might not work as intended

Roomful of Teeth

Next event:

​A wide range – vocal and musical – from a Grammy-winning ensemble.

Roomful of Teeth is an American vocal ensemble whose members are dedicated to reimagining the expressive potential of the human voice. Founded in 2009 by Brad Wells, the group has studied with some of the world's top performers and teachers of extended vocal techniques, such as yodel and overtone singing, in order to surpass the boundaries of what is expected in Western vocal music. The New Yorker has described Roomful of Teeth as 'a kind of lab experiment for what the human voice can do.'

In collaboration with numerous composers Roomful of Teeth has established a unique and extensive repertoire. Their debut album, Roomful of Teeth, won a Grammy award for Best Chamber Music/Small Ensemble Performance. Their next album, Render (2015), was nominated in the same category.

In Håkonshallen Roomful of Teeth perform Caroline Shaw's Partita for 8 Voices. Herself a mezzo-soprano in the ensemble, Caroline Shaw is also a composer, violinist and producer. She won the Pulitzer Prize for this work. The additional programme is curated in collaboration with this year's festival musicians and artist-in-residence Kronos Quartet, and consists of Vesper Sparrow by Festival composer 2021 Missy Mazzoli, as well as works by Peter Shin and William Brittelle from Roomful of Teeth's upcoming recording.

Roomful of Teeth also appear in the Closing Concert with a commissioned work by Caroline Shaw.

Photo: Ryan Scherb




​1 h


Standard: 440/490
Senior: 396/441
Under 30/student: 190 
FiB Fordel until 13 April: 308/343
FiB Fordel from 14 April: 352/392
BT Fordel: 330/367

Purchase ticket


    • Roomful of Teeth
    • Estelí Gomez vocals
    • Martha Cluver vocals
    • Caroline Shaw vocals
    • Virginia Kelsey vocals
    • Jodie Landau vocals
    • Avery Griffin vocals
    • Thann Scoggin vocals
    • Cameron Beauchamp vocals

Music by

    • Shaw
    • Mazzoli
    • Shin
    • Brittelle


    • Caroline Shaw (1982–)
      Partita for 8 Voices
      1. Allemande
      2. Saraband
      3. Courante
      4. Passacaglia

    • Missy Mazzoli (1980–)
      Vesper Sparrow 
      Text: Farnoosh Fathi
    • Peter Shin (1991–)
      Bits torn from words
      Movements 4 and 6

    • William Brittelle (1977–)

Supported by

The Savings Bank Foundation DNB – Dextra Musica


Connected to chatbot
Hei! Jeg er Festspillenes chatbot. Hva kan jeg hjelpe deg med?