Symfoni for hele Grieghallen - m/Griegs a-mollkonsert

Symphony for Grieghallenwith Grieg's Concerto in A minor

  • Home
  • Programme
  • 2024
  • Symphony for Grieghallen - with Grieg's Concerto in A minor
Performance type: 
1 h 30 min incl. interval

Music to wander in. 

In 2022, Øyvind Torvund created Symfoni for Kunstnernes Hus (Symphony for the Artists' House) as an artistic installation in the form of music for the anniversary of the institution. The audience moved freely from room to room, listening. This year's festival composer has further developed the symphony with Grieghallen in mind.

In his new Symphony, the musicians of the Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra will be found throughout various parts of the concert hall. The string players may be located in the cloakroom area, brass players on the stage, and in between will be saxophonist Kjetil Møster, Jørgen Træen on synth and electric guitar and percussionist Jennifer Torrence. The audience can explore Grieghallen's levels and the sound of the music as they wish.

'I have thought of this concert as a festival. I've always liked the feeling of walking around in different rooms, experiencing various simultaneous moods and energies. In Grieghallen, the musicians will be in groups, and you can decide for yourself how close you want to get to the different stages,' says Torvund.

After the interval comes the performance of Grieg's immortal A minor Piano Concerto with the young artist Alexandra Dovgan as the soloist. Born in 2007, she has already made her debut in the most prestigious European concert halls over the last couple of years.


​Please note: The first half of this performance does not have the normal arrangement of a stage and auditorium, and there are no reserved seats. The musicians will perform from different parts of the auditorium and the foyer, and the audience is encouraged to move between spaces to experience the music. During the second half of the performance, the musicians will be on stage in Griegsalen and the audience will sit on the seat specified on their ticket. Read more about this years festival composer Øyvind Torvund.


  • Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra

  • Ilan Volkov conductor

  • Alexandra Dovgan piano

  • Kjetil Møster saxophone

  • Jørgen Træen synth

  • Jennifer Torrence percussion

Music by

  • Grieg

  • Torvund


  • Øyvind Torvund (1976–)​

  • Edvard Grieg (1843–1907)
    Piano concerto in A minor, op. 16

Supported by

Ernst von Siemens Music Foundation