It might seem that you have turned off javascripts. We have tried to ensure functionality without, but some functions might not work as intended

Jump to main content
22 May - 5 June 2024

Sheku Kanneh-Mason & Isata Kanneh-Mason

Next event:

​From the Royal Albert Hall to Håkonshallen.

Sheku and Isata Kanneh-Mason are a British brother and sister who have made music together from an early age. Both are still in their twenties, but prestigious concert performances and distinctions have practically queued up for them for several years.

Sheku Kanneh-Mason is a cellist who became known to a global audience when he played at the wedding of Prince Harry and Duchess Meghan. He has appeared at the BBC Proms every year since 2017, and was guest soloist at the famous last night in September 2023 alongside last year's Bergen International festival musician, the soprano Lise Davidsen.

Isata Kanneh-Mason made her solo piano debut at the 2023 Proms. She appeared at the Bergen International Festival for the first time two years ago, and her innovative, personal recordings have been extremely well received.

In addition to both being in demand as soloists, the siblings frequently tour together. Their musical empathy and interaction when performing together derives from years of rehearsal and performance together.

In Håkonshallen they perform cello sonatas by Mendelssohn, Beethoven and Chopin. 

Photo: James Hole

  • Music



​1 h


​Standard: 480/530
Under 30 years/student: 200
Senior: 432/477
FiB Fordel: 336/371
BT Fordel: 360/397

Purchase ticket


    • Sheku Kanneh-Mason cello
    • Isata Kanneh-Mason piano

Music by

    • Mendelssohn
    • Beethoven
    • Chopin
    • Felix Mendelssohn (1809–1847)
      Cello Sonata no. 1 in B flat major, op. 45
      1. Allegro vivace
      2. Andante
      3. Allegro assai

    • Ludwig van Beethoven (1770–1827)
      Cello Sonata no. 5 in D major, op. 102:2
      1. Allegro con brio
      2. Adagio con molto sentimento d'affetto
      3. Allegro

    • Frédéric Chopin (1810–1849)
      Cello Sonata in G minor, op. 65
      1. Allegro moderato
      2. Scherzo
      3. Largo
      4. Finale. Allegro

Supported by

The Savings Bank Foundation DNB – Dextra Musica

Aud Jebsen


Connected to chatbot
Hei! Jeg er Festspillenes chatbot. Hva kan jeg hjelpe deg med?