JACK Quartet & Yarn/Wire -

JACK Quartet& Yarn/Wire

Performance type: 
1 h 10 min incl. interval

​Two quartets from New York with new music by the Festival composer. 

JACK Quartet and Yarn/Wire present an evening of groundbreaking music, including the world premiere of music by Festival composer Øyvind Torvund.

JACK Quartet is an internationally acclaimed string quartet dedicated to creating thought-provoking listening experiences with contemporary music from the 20th and 21st centuries. The quartet has been Grammy-nominated three times, and The New York Times called them 'our leading new-music foursome.'

The percussion and piano quartet Yarn/Wire is committed to promoting creative, experimental music with curiosity and fearlessness, and has collaborated closely with Øyvind Torvund for nearly a decade.

'Romantic, sentimental music in combination with noisy, perfectly bold percussion as represented by these two quartets suits me perfectly,' says the composer.

The programme includes In the Clouds from 2023 and the world premiere of Torvund's String Quartets No. 1 and 2, both works composed for and performed by these two quartets.

JACK Quartet also performs works by two American 20th century icons, the avant-garde Morton Feldman and the pioneer Ruth Crawford Seeger, who is particularly known for her modernist string quartet. Yarn/Wire open the concert with Le monde des ronds et des carrés, written for them by Japanese composer Misato Mochizuki in 2015.


​Read more about the Festival composer Øyvind Torvund.

See also Yarn/Wire in the family concert The sound of the forest on Saturday 1 June.


JACK Quartet

  • Christopher Otto violin

  • Austin Wulliman violin

  • John Richards viola

  • Jay Campbell cello


  • Laura Barger piano

  • Julia Den Boer piano

  • Russell Greenberg percussion

  • Sae Hashimoto percussion

Music by

  • Mochizuki

  • Feldman

  • Seeger

  • Torvund 


  • Misato Mochizuki (1969–)
    Le Monde des ronds et des carrés (The World of Circles and Squares)

  • Morton Feldman (1926–1987)

  • Ruth Crawford Seeger (1901–1953)
    String Quartet

  • Øyvind Torvund (1976–)
    String Quartet no. 1 & 2
    World premiere
    In the Clouds

Supported by

The Savings Bank Foundation DNB – Dextra Musica and Ernst von Siemens Music Foundation