It might seem that you have turned off javascripts. We have tried to ensure functionality without, but some functions might not work as intended

Jump to main content
22 May - 5 June 2024

Nelson Goerner II

Next event:

​Lyrical spring moods.

Argentinian pianist Nelson Goerner had his breakthrough in 1986 when he won the first prize in the Franz Liszt Competition in Buenos Aires. From his base in Switzerland, he has established himself as an international orchestral soloist and chamber musician, known for playing with ease, precision, and elegance. 

During the Bergen International Festival, he gives two concerts at Troldhaugen, both centered around Grieg. Goerner presents the entire third book of Lyric Pieces, music that Edvard Grieg often chose to play at his own concerts. 

The rest of the programme for this Troldsalen concert consists of music by Handel, Rachmaninov, and Liszt. 

'We admire the freshness of the melodies, the fluidity of his trills, the understated virtuosity of the cadence. [...] And always, Nelson Goerner makes his instrument sing ...' – BACHTRACK

Photo: Marco Borggreve


Nelson Goerner will also perform a concert in Grieg's villa on Friday 31 May.

  • Music



​1 h


​Standard: 450
Under 30 years/student: 200
Senior: 405
FiB Fordel: 315
BT Fordel: 337

Purchase ticket


Return transport is included in the ticket for concerts in Troldsalen. Please note that the bus ticket must be booked when you buy your concert ticket. The bus journey is approx. 30 min. Departure from Bergen Tourist Information at 18:30. 


    • Nelson Goerner piano

Music by

    • Händel
    • Grieg
    • Rakhmaninov
    • Lizt

    • Georg Friedrich Händel (1685–1759)
      Chaconne in G major, HWV 435

    • Edvard Grieg (1843–1907)
      Lyric pieces, Book III, op. 43
      1. Butterfly
      2. Solitary Traveller
      3. In My Native Country
      4. Little Bird
      5. Erotikon
      6. To Spring

    • Sergej Rakhmaninov   (1873–1943)
      10 Preludes, op. 23
      1. Largo
      2. Maestoso
      3. Tempo di minuetto
      4. Andante cantabile
      5. Alla marcia
      6. Andante
      7. Allegro
      8. Allegro vivace
      9. Presto
      10. Largo

    • Franz Liszt (1811–1886)
      Hungarian Rhapsody no. 6 in D flat major, S244:6

Supported by

The Savings Bank Foundation DNB – Dextra Musica


Connected to chatbot
Hei! Jeg er Festspillenes chatbot. Hva kan jeg hjelpe deg med?